Mitsubishi R5 logo
Home News About Eligibility Technical Sales Contact



I-2 finish on Scottish Rally

26th June 2016

The forth round of the MSA British Rally Championship, the RSAC Scottish Rally on Saturday 25th June, provided a second 1-2 result for the R5 specification Mitsubishi Mirages, with Robert Blomberg/Lars Andersson in the O’leary’s Sports Bar car finishing first and Jamie Jukes/David Williams second in the Spencer Sport car.

Starting and finishing in Dumfries, the event featured eight stages in the nearby forests that combined, gave competitors a total competitive distance of 62-miles.

Right from the word go, Jukes and Williams led the National Rally Cup category of the event, with Blomberg and Andersson a close second. This pattern continued right up until the sixth stage, when a puncture slowed Jukes and Williams by 30-seconds. Only a few seconds behind, Blomberg and Andersson seized the opportunity and took the lead.

With just one stage left to go – due to the abandoned stage seven – and with both Mitsubishi Mirages very equally matched, there was little Jukes and Williams could do to reverse the situation before the end of the event and whilst the Spencer Sport liveried car was the runner-up on this occasion, for Spencer Sport - who are the official distributors of these cars in the UK and Ireland – it was a very satisfying result.

At the finish, Jamie Jukes - the owner of Spencer Sport who are the UK and Ireland distributors for the Mitsubishi R5 – said:

“I am very pleased with the performance of the two Mitsubishis. To score another first and second place in the National Rally Cup this season is proof that the Mirage is a highly competitive package for national and regional rallies. I’m proud of what all of us as a team has achieved this weekend and I would like to thank everyone involved for their commitment and professionalism.”

The first 1-2 result for the R5 specification Mitsubishi was in the first round of the British Championship in March, when Osian Pryce won the National Rally Cup and Robert Blomberg was second.


Click images to enlarge